StädteRegion Aachen

The CitiesRegion Aachen is an innovative association of the cities of Aachen, Alsdorf, Baesweiler, Eschweiler, Herzogenrath, Monschau, Stolberg and Würselen as well as the municipalities of Simmerath and Roetgen. Since 2009 it has occupied the office of the Aachen district and pooled many services around the subjects of learning, life, social affairs and leisure with the aim of steadily improving the quality of life of its inhabitants.
The education office of the CitiesRegion Aachen supports those responsible for education and educational establishments in the regional education network, serving as the interface between extramural places of learning and schools.

Together with the district administrations of Düren, Euskirchen and Heinsberg and the district government of Cologne, the CitiesRegion Aachen plays a central role in educational cooperation on the German side of the Euroregion and contributes to the profiling of the cross-border knowledge and education region. The promotion of the neighbouring languages and intercultural competencies in the framework of the EMRLingua project offers huge opportunities for children and youngsters, who can use the potential of the border region.