EGTC Meuse-Rhine Euroregion (EMR)

The Meuse-Rhine Euroregion (EMR), lead partner of the EMRLingua project, is the most diverse, but also the most complex of the Euroregions. It comprises the following five regions:

  • Province of Liège,
  • Province of Belgian Limburg,
  • Province of Dutch Limburg,
  • The German-speaking community of Belgium,
  • The Aachen region.

The EMR is spread over three different countries and cultures and is home to three languages: German, Dutch and French.
Its primary function is to make day-to-day cross-border life easier for the people who live in this region. To this end, the EMR stimulates and coordinates cross-border cooperation between its five partner regions and acts as a facilitator and intermediary between the different local, regional and sometimes even national actors. In addition, the EMR initiates and supports numerous projects (INTERREG) that enable the Euroregion to reinforce cohesion in the area.
The province of Liège will serve as chair of the Meuse-Rhine Euroregion until 2022, with the member of parliament and president of Liège province, Luc Gillard, as chairman of the EMR. In 2022, the chair will pass to the province of Dutch Limburg.

Logo EVTZ Euregio Maas-Rhein

Learn more about the Meuse-Rhine Euroregion and its history on the